Boards and committees

View more information on Northern Territory Government boards and committees.

The following are statutory bodies administered by the Department of the Chief Minister and Cabinet.

Grants Commission

The Grants Commission is established under section 4 of the Local Government Grants Commission Act 1986 to recommend the allocation of financial assistance grants provided by the Commonwealth Government for Northern Territory local governing bodies in the form of general purpose and local roads grants.

Read further information on the Grants Commission.

Remuneration Tribunal

The Remuneration Tribunal is established under section 17 of the Assembly Members and Statutory Officers (Remuneration and Other Entitlements) Act 2006 to inquire into and report on the remuneration and entitlements for key Northern Territory office holders.

Read further information on the Remuneration Tribunal.

Boards of Trustees for reserved land

The Administrator of the Northern Territory can resume and reserve select Crown land the subject of a lease, for purposes listed in section 76 of the Crown Lands Act 1992. Reserved land for the recreation or amusement of the public, or for any other public purpose are managed, regulated or controlled in the manner provided by section 79.

A list of reserves in the Northern Territory include:

Under the Administrative Arrangements Order 2022, the Department of the Chief Minister and Cabinet is responsible for administering section 79(9) of the Crown Lands Act 1992 under which the minister appoints trustees of reserved land, including the appointment of a chair of the trustees. The Department of Infrastructure, Planning and Logistics is responsible for administering the remainder of the Act.

The role of trustees is to make by-laws on matters including:

  • opening and closing times
  • conduct of persons
  • days on which sports, games or training is permitted
  • prevention or regulation of vehicles and animals
  • vehicle speed and parking
  • prohibition or regulation of the sale, or display for sale, of goods
  • prevention of damage to buildings or natural features
  • prevention of damage and destruction of trees and other vegetation
  • prevention of nuisances on the reserve
  • charging of fees for admission
  • authorisation of persons to demand names and address of persons contravening a by-law
  • removal of persons contravening a by-law
  • impose penalties up to 4 penalty units; for the current value of penalty units, go to the Department of the Attorney-General and Justice website.

Last updated: 19 July 2022

Give feedback about this page.

Share this page:

URL copied!