Jayanthi Srinivas

Appointed the Medal of the Order of Australia  in the General Division Mrs Jayanthi Srinivas OAM

For service to the Indian community of the Northern Territory.

Mrs Jayanthi Srinivas is Executive Assistant Principal at The Essington International School, Darwin. She is also the Vice President of the Indian Cultural Society of the Northern Territory, having served as President from 2007 to 2008 and is involved with a number of other organisations promoting social inclusion in the Territory.

Mrs Srinivas was a supporter and assisted with developing the festival India@Mindil Indian cultural festival from its early days, and has been their Publicity Coordinator since 2002. She served as President of the Tamil Society of the Northern Territory from 2002 to 2004 and went on to become President of the Multicultural Council of the Northern Territory in 2011.

Demonstrating her commitment to advocating for social cohesion, Mrs Srinivas served as a Community Representative for the Police Ethnic Advisory Group between 1998 and 2007. She has been a member of the Multilingual Broadcasting Council of the Northern Territory since 2003, serving as President from 2008 to 2010 and was a Board Member of the Northern Territory Australia Day Council from 2006 to 2012.

In her educational roles at Essington School she has been instrumental in championing social inclusion in the classroom.

Mrs Srinivas won the Rotary Pride of Workmanship Award in 2006 and was appointed People of Australia Ambassador in 2013. She was named State Winner for Community Work in 2017 by the Institute of Managers and Leaders.

Last updated: 03 March 2020

Give feedback about this page.

Share this page:

URL copied!