

Government Gazette

ISSN-0157-833X

No. S45 27 June 2014

Northern Territory of Australia Local Government Act Restructuring Order

I, David William Tollner, Minister for Local Government and Regions, under section 10C of the *Local Government Act*, with effect on and from 1 July 2014, make the restructuring order set out in the Schedule.

Dated 26 June 2014

D. W. Tollner Minister for Local Government and Regions

Schedule

Part 1 Victoria Daly Region and Victoria Daly Regional Council

The boundary of the Victoria Daly Region is changed to the boundary shown on Compiled Plan 5470.

Note for clause 1

Compiled Plan 5470 may be inspected at the office of the Surveyor-General, 3rd Floor NAB House, 71 Smith Street, Darwin.

- 2 Each of the following wards of the Victoria Daly Region is abolished:
 - (a) Nganmarriyanga ward;
 - (b) Thamarrurr/Pindi Pindi ward;
 - (c) Tyemirri ward.
- The basis of filling the office of the principal member of the Victoria Daly Regional Council is appointment and the Council must take the actions mentioned in section 45(1) of the Act at the first meeting of the Council held after this order takes effect.

Part 2 West Daly Region and West Daly Regional Council

The local government area shown on Compiled Plan 5469 is constituted, determined to be a region, and assigned the name "West Daly Region".

Note for clause 4

Compiled Plan 5469 may be inspected at the office of the Surveyor-General, 3rd Floor NAB House, 71 Smith Street, Darwin.

- West Daly Regional Council, the body corporate established as a prospective council by a restructuring order dated 23 April 2014 and published in *Gazette* No. S21 on 28 April 2014, is constituted as the council for the West Daly Region.
- The following wards, the boundaries of which are shown on Compiled Plan 5469, are created for the West Daly Region:
 - (a) Nganmarriyanga ward;
 - (b) Thamarrurr/Pindi Pindi ward:
 - (c) Tyemirri ward.
- 7 The number of members to be elected for a ward of the West Daly Region is determined to be:
 - (a) for the Nganmarriyanga ward 1;
 - (b) for the Thamarrurr/Pindi Pindi ward 4;

- (c) for the Tyemirri ward 1.
- 8 Each of the following persons is appointed to be a member of a ward of the West Daly Region for a term of office ending at the conclusion of the next general election following the person's appointment:
 - (a) for the Nganmarriyanga ward Gary Ariuu;
 - (b) for the Thamarrurr/Pindi Pindi ward:
 - (i) Andrew Maxwell Brown; and
 - (ii) Mark Martin; and
 - (iii) Wally Minjin; and
 - (iv) Tobias Nganbe;
 - (c) for the Tyemirri ward Harold Stephen Wilson.
- 9 The West Daly Regional Council must hold its first ordinary meeting on or before 31 July 2014.
- 10 At its first ordinary meeting, the West Daly Regional Council:
 - (a) must take the actions mentioned in section 45(1) of the Act; and
 - (b) may pass the resolution mentioned in section 61(7) of the Act.
- 11 There is taken to be an approved rating proposal for the West Daly Region in the same form as the rating proposal that was approved for the Victoria Daly Region on 17 April 2014.